Mentors

Note:

The faculty list below is intended to provide you with an overview of potential research mentors in various NMSU colleges and departments. If you are interested in a research lab not listed, please contact the faculty and the NMSU-HHMI office to discuss mentoring possibilities.

Department of Biology

 

Donovan Bailey

Email: dbailey@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7012

Research Area: Plant Systematics

 

Maria Castillo

Email: mcastill@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7664

Research Area: Immunology-not available in fall 2016/spring 2017

 

Jennifer Curtiss

Email: curtij01@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5611

Research Area: Cell & Developmental Biology

 

Kathy Hanley

Email: khanley@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-4583

Research Area: Virus Evolution Ecology

 

Immo Hansen

Email: immoh@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6-7719

Research Area: Molecular Vector Biology

 

Peter Houde

Email: phoude@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6019

Research Area: Avian Systematics

 

Emily Indriolo

Email: indriolo@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3611

Research Area: Pollen-Pistill Interactionsoccur in Different Species of Arabidopsis Plants

 

Patricia Lodato

Email: plodato@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2382

Research Area: Microbiology (Enterohemorrhagic Esherichia coli, EHEC)

 

Giancarlo Lopez-Martinez

Email: gclopez@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3091

Research Area: Animal Physiology

 

Karen Mabry

Email: kmabry@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2633

Research Area: Ecology and Animal Behavior

 

Brook Milligan

Email: brook@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7980

Research Area: Evolutionary Genetics

 

Michele Nishiguchi

Email: nish@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3721

Research Area: Evolutionary Biology

 

Elba Serrano

Email contact only: serrano@nmsu.edu

Research Area: Neuroinformatics, Pharmaceutical Database and Neuroethics

 

Brad Shuster

Email: schuster@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1325

Research Area: Regulation of the Cell Skeleton

 

Geoff Smith

Email: gsmith@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6080

Research Area: Environmental Biology

 

Graciela Unguez

Email: gunguez@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7963

Research Area: Developmental Biology

 

Tim Wright

Email: wright@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1136

Research Area: Animal Behavior and Evolution

 

John Xu

Email: jxu@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7713

Research Area: Genomics

 

Department of Animal and Range Sciences

 

Ryan Ashley

Email: ryashley@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-4135

Research Area: Reproductive Physiology

 

Gaylene Fasenko

Email: gfasenko@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3402

Research Area: Companion Animals and Human Animal Interactions (HAI)

 

Clint Loest

Email: cloest@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1714

Research Area: Ruminant Nutrition

 

Eric Scholljegerdes

Email: ejs@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1755

Research Area: Ruminant Nutrition

 

Sergio Soto-Navarro

Email: ssoto@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2515

Research Area: Ruminant Nutrition

 

Adam Summers

Email: asummers@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1549

Research Area: Reproductive Physiology, Fetal Programming

 

Laura White

Email: lmwhite@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5595

Research Area: Pedagogy, Higher Order Thinking and Equine Nutrition and Growth

 

Shanna Ivey

Email: sivey@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-4650

Research Area: Rumen Microbiology

 

Jennifer Hernandez-Gifford

Phone: 646-2514

Email: jgifford@ad.nmsu.edu

Research Area: Reproductive Physiology, Signaling Pathways that contribute to female fertility.

 

Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Conservative Ecology

 

Mark Anderson

Email: manderse@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-8034

Research Area: Mathematical Modeling

 

Wiebke Boeing

Email: wboeing@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1707

Research Area: Aquatic Ecology

 

James Cain

Email: jwcain@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3382

Research Area: Wildlife Habitat Relationships, Large Mammal, Ecology, Wildlife Management and Conservation

 

Colleen Caldwell

Email: ccaldwel@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-8126

Research Area: Fish Physiology, Aquatic Toxicology and Conservation Biology

 

Scott Carleton

Email: carleton@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7196

Research Area: Migration, Habitat Use and Demography, Non Game and Game Bird Ecology

 

Gary Roemer

Email: groemer@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3394

Research Area: Mammalian Ecology

 

Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences

 

Paul Bosland

Email: pbosland@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5171

Research Area: Chile Breeding, Genetics

 

Chris Cramer

Email: cscramer@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2657

Research Area: Breeding, Genetics, Onions, Quantitative Genetics, Crop Production

 

Champa Gopalan

Email: csgopala@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5784

Research Area: Biotechnology, Genetics

 

Omar Holguin

Email: frholgui@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5913

Research Area: Mass Spectral Analysis of Plant Primary and Secondary Metabolism from GMOs

 

Kulbushan Grover

Email: kgrover@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2352

Research Area: Sustainable Energy

 

Mary O’Connell

Email: moconnel@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5172

Research Area: Genomics, Plant Physiology

 

Ian Ray

Email: iaray@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3819

Research Area: Improving Osmotic Stress Tolerance in Alfalfa Through Molecular Techniques and Conventional Breeding

 

Manoj Shukla

Email: shuklamk@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2324

Research Area: Environmental Soil Physics

 

Jinfa Zhang

Email: jinzhang@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3438

Research Area: Cotton Breeding, Genetics and Genomics

 

Department of Entomology, Plant Pathology, and Weed Science (EPPWS)

 

Rebecca Creamer

Email: creamer@taipan.nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3068

Research Area: Plant Virology

 

Steve Hanson

Email: shanson@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5073

Research Area: Virology

 

Jane Pierce

Email: japierce@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1228

Research Area: Entomology

 

Alvaro Romero

Email: aromero2@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5550

Research Area: Entomology/Parasitology

 

Soum Sanogo

Email: ssanogo@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3577

Research Area: Host-Pathogen Relationships

 

Jennifer Randall

Email: jrandall@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2920

Research Area: Genetic and molecular mechanisms of plant development and plant microbe interactions.

 

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

 

Amanda Ashley

Email: ashleyak@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2084

Research Area: DNA Repair/Replication, Cancer Biology, Development Chemotherapy Resistance

 

Jeff Arterburn

Email: jarterbu@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2738

Research Area: Development Of Small Molecular Probes, Imaging Agents, Anticancer and Antiviral Drugs-not available in fall 2016

 

Paola Mera

Email: mera@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7679

Research Area: Bacterial genetics and physiology

 

Kevin Houston

Email: khouston@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3918

Research Area: Molecular Function of Ovarian Hormones in Cancers and Tumors

 

Feifei Li

Email: fli@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3346

Research Area: Synthetic Transition Metal Chemistry, Bioinorganic Chemistry of Metal-Ion Based Therapy, Novel Imaging Technology

 

Shelley Lusetti

Email: slusetti@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6016

Research Area: Cellular Processes Underlying Chromosomal Maintenance by Studying the enzymes and Regulatory Mechanism that Control it

 

Aravamudan Gopalan

Email: agopalan@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2589

Research Area: Chelators for Environmental Applications

 

Erik Yukl

Email: etyukl@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3176

Research Area: Mechanism By Which Bacteria Aquire Metals (Copper, Iron, Magnesium) from the Environment and how Certain Metalloproteins are Used as Sensors of Environmental Conditions

 

Department of Psychology

 

Michael Hout

Email: mhout@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1730

Research Area: Visual Cognition, Visual Attention, Memory, Eye Movements, and Computational Modeling