Mentors

Note:

The faculty list below is intended to provide you with an overview of potential research mentors in various NMSU colleges and departments. If you are interested in a research lab not listed, please contact the faculty and the NMSU-HHMI office to discuss mentoring possibilities.

Mentor list

Department of Biology

 

Donovan Bailey

Email: dbailey@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7012

Research Area: Plant Systematics.

 

Maria Castillo

Email: mcastill@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7664

Research Area: Immunology aspects between molluscs and their symbionts.

 

Jennifer Curtiss

Email: curtij01@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5611

Research Area: Cell & Developmental Biology.

 

Kathy Hanley

Email: khanley@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-4583

Research Area: Virus Evolution Ecology.

 

Immo Hansen

Email: immoh@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6-7719

Research Area: Molecular Vector Biology.

 

Peter Houde

Email: phoude@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6019

Research Area: Avian Systematics.

 

Emily Indriolo

Email: indriolo@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3611

Research Area: Plant Molecular Biology, Cell Signaling.

 

Karen Mabry

Email: kmabry@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2633

Research Area: Behavioral Ecology.

 

Brook Milligan

Email: brook@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7980

Research Area: Evolutionary Genetics.

 

Elba Serrano

Email contact only: serrano@nmsu.edu

Research Area: Neuroinformatics, Pharmaceutical Database and Neuroethics.

 

Brad Shuster

Email: schuster@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1325

Research Area: Regulation of the Cell Skeleton.

 

Geoff Smith- not available in spring 2019-

Email: gsmith@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6080

Research Area: Environmental Biology.

 

Graciela Unguez

Email: gunguez@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7963

Research Area: Developmental Biology.

 

Tim Wright

Email: wright@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1136

Research Area: Animal Behavior and Evolution.

 

John Xu

Email: jxu@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7713

Research Area: Genomics.

Department of Animal and Range Sciences

 

Ryan Ashley

Email: ryashley@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-4135

Research Area: Reproductive Physiology.

 

Gaylene Fasenko

Email: gfasenko@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3402

Research Area: Companion Animals and Human Animal Interactions (HAI).

 

Clint Loest

Email: cloest@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1714

Research Area: Ruminant Nutrition.

 

Eric Scholljegerdes

Email: ejs@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1755

Research Area: Ruminant Nutrition.

 

Sergio Soto-Navarro

Email: ssoto@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2515

Research Area: Ruminant Nutrition.

 

Adam Summers

Email: asummers@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1549

Research Area: Reproductive Physiology, Fetal Programming.

 

Laura White

Email: lmwhite@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5595

Research Area: Pedagogy, Higher Order Thinking and Equine Nutrition and Growth.

 

Shanna Ivey

Email: sivey@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-4650

Research Area: Rumen Microbiology.

 

Jennifer Hernandez-Gifford

Phone: 646-2514

Email: jgifford@ad.nmsu.edu

Research Area: Reproductive Physiology, Signaling Pathways that contribute to female fertility.

 

Sara Fuentes-Soriano

Phone: 646-3732

Email: sfuensor@nmsu.edu

Research Area: Natural history collection management, plant systematics, biodiversity, and conservation.

 

Akasha Faist

Phone: 646-1805

Email: afaist@nmsu.edu

Research Area: Rangeland and restoration ecology.

Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Conservative Ecology

 

Wiebke Boeing

Email: wboeing@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1707

Research Area: Aquatic Ecology.

 

James Cain

Email: jwcain@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3382

Research Area: Wildlife Habitat Relationships, Large Mammal, Ecology, Wildlife Management and Conservation.

 

Colleen Caldwell

Email: ccaldwel@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-8126

Research Area: Fish Physiology, Aquatic Toxicology and Conservation Biology.

 

Scott Carleton

Email: carleton@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7196

Research Area: Migration, Habitat Use and Demography, Non Game and Game Bird Ecology.

 

Gary Roemer

Email: groemer@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3394

Research Area: Mammalian Ecology.

Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences

 

Chris Cramer

Email: cscramer@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2657

Research Area: Breeding, Genetics, Onions, Quantitative Genetics, Crop Production.

 

Champa Gopalan

Email: csgopala@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5784

Research Area: Biotechnology, Genetics.

 

Omar Holguin

Email: frholgui@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5913

Research Area: Mass Spectral Analysis of Plant Primary and Secondary Metabolism from GMO’s.

 

Kulbushan Grover

Email: kgrover@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2352

Research Area: Sustainable Energy.

 

Ian Ray

Email: iaray@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3819

Research Area: Improving Osmotic Stress Tolerance in Alfalfa Through Molecular Techniques and Conventional Breeding.

 

Manoj Shukla

Email: shuklamk@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2324

Research Area: Environmental Soil Physics.

 

Jinfa Zhang

Email: jinzhang@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3438

Research Area: Cotton Breeding, Genetics and Genomics.

 

Nicole Pietrasiak

Email: npietras@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6041

Research Area: Soil Microbiology, Phycology, Desert Soil Ecology, Biocrusts.

 

Ivette Guzman

Email: ivguzman@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1914

Research Area: Medicinal plants, plant physiology and biochemistry, functional foods.

 

Eric Lehnhoff

Email: lehnhoff@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2328

Research Area: Weed Ecology and Management.

Department of Entomology, Plant Pathology, and Weed Sciences (EPPWS)

 

Rebecca Creamer

Email: creamer@taipan.nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3068

Research Area: Plant Virology.

 

Steve Hanson

Email: shanson@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5073

Research Area: Virology.

 

Jane Pierce

Email: japierce@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1228

Research Area: Entomology.

 

Alvaro Romero

Email: aromero2@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5550

Research Area: Entomology/Parasitology.

 

Soum Sanogo

Email: ssanogo@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3577

Research Area: Host-Pathogen Relationships.

 

Jennifer Randall

Email: jrandall@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2920

Research Area: Genetic and molecular mechanisms of plant development and plant microbe interactions.

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

 

Amanda Ashley

Email: ashleyak@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2084

Research Area: DNA Repair/Replication, Cancer Biology, Development Chemotherapy Resistance.

 

Jeff Arterburn

Email: jarterbu@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2738

Research Area: Development Of Small Molecular Probes, Imaging Agents, Anticancer and Antiviral Drugs.

 

Paola Mera

Email: mera@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-7679

Research Area: Bacterial genetics and physiology.

 

Kevin Houston

Email: khouston@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3918

Research Area: Molecular Function of Ovarian Hormones in Cancers and Tumors.

 

Feifei Li

Email: fli@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3346

Research Area: Synthetic Transition Metal Chemistry, Bioinorganic Chemistry of Metal-Ion Based Therapy, Novel Imaging Technology.

 

Shelley Lusetti

Email: slusetti@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-6016

Research Area: Cellular Processes Underlying Chromosomal Maintenance by Studying the enzymes and Regulatory Mechanism that Control it.

 

Aravamudan Gopalan

Email: agopalan@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-2589

Research Area: Chelators for Environmental Applications.

 

Erik Yukl

Email: etyukl@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-3176

Research Area: Mechanism By Which Bacteria Aquire Metals (Copper, Iron, Magnesium) from the Environment and how Certain Metalloproteins are Used as Sensors of Environmental Conditions.

Department of Psychology

 

Michael Hout

Email: mhout@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-1730

Research Area: Visual Cognition, Visual Attention, Memory, Eye Movements, and Computational Modeling.

Department of Chemical & Materials Engineering

 

Jessica Houston

Email: jph@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-5563

Research Area: Developing and advancing time-resolved flow cytometry.

 

Catherine Brewer

Email: cbrewer@nmsu.edu

Phone: 646-8637

Research Area: Biomass, thermochemical processing.